Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.


Despite intermittent rain, dropping a qualifying heat, and lapped traffic coming into play in the 50 lap final; NSW's Kaidon Brown claimed the $20,000 winner's cheque on Sunday night by winning the 22/23 McMahon Services Australasian 50 Lap Speedcar Championship!

Adding his name to the championship winner's list in front of a packed Murray Bridge Speedway crowd, Brown joins an elite list of Australian, New Zealand, and American Speedcar legends who have won the event since it began in Melbourne in 1940. Last run in NZ in the 80's, the event was reinvigorated in SA this season with over $50,000 in prizemoney and a unique format where top points and heat wins combined to qualify competitors into the top eight pole shuffle.

With $20,000 on the nose, racing over the weekend was always expected to be intense. Early feature race leader, West Australian Daniel Harding who won the $1,000 Goonan Motorsport Pole Shuffle, unfortunately came undone in a big way in the opening laps of the 50 lap feature seeing him retire from the race. This stoppage paved the way for a NSW-based battle to kick-off between former Australian Speedcar Champion Brown, and current NSW and ACT Speedcar Champion Michael Stewart.

Switching placings as they filtered through dense lapped traffic, the duo put on one hell of a show as they fought for the lead. Behind them, West Australian Manders settled into 3rd and Kiwi Kaleb Currie into 4th while Troy Ware, Luke Storer, Michael Pickens, Charlie Brown, Rusty Whittaker, and Nick Parker battled it out to garner 5th place.

A spun Pickens brought on the yellows with 13 laps remaining, bringing the field back to a clear track. Currie slipped past Manders on the restart, and was challenging Brown for second when a tight-running Brown pushed up track in front of Currie and Ware exiting turn four. Ware was the victim in the clash, coming to a stop and going rear of the field at the yellows.

Charlie Brown brought the Q11 into podium contention after the restart, challenging Currie for third until he lost a radiator hose and spun in his own fluid with just ten laps remaining. Victorian Luke Storer clipped the spun Brown in turn four, also ending his campaign. Reigning NZ Midget Champion Pickens retired to the infield during the yellows with a flat battery, and just five laps later, Victorian Nick Parker was also forced to retire with a mechanical issue.

A hard charging Ware and Manders once more battled towards the podium at the restart, but neither were able to rein in the top three at the chequers, with Kaidon Brown taking the win from Michael Stewart and Kaleb Currie.

"You always feel like the hunted when you're out in front" said an elated Brown about the battle with fellow New South Welshman Michael Stewart. "The lapped cars all got together in three and four and I got into it, and Michael got past me. I know how good he is on a heavy track, so I was really surprised to get back by him. When $20k is on the line, you kind of push yourself a bit harder. I'm just really happy to come away with the win.

"You don't come across $20,000 to win paying shows very often, so hats off to the SA Speedcar Association, Murray Bridge for having us, and all the fans for coming out. It's really cool to see such a big crowd for a Midget show, and really special to be able to race in front of this. Obviously there is deep history in this race, it's just a privilege to be part of the winner's list".

Many thanks to all of the event sponsors involved in making the Australasian 50 Lap Speedcar Championship happen! McMahon Services, The Speedway Shop, Speedcars Australia INC., Goonan Motor Sport, Moores Saw Sharpening, Pickos Photos, Supreme Sticker Co., Moore Mechanical Truck & Trailer Repairs, Murray Bridge Speedway & Murray Bridge Sporting Car Club & Motorcycle Club Inc.


In the Formula 500s, Patrick Merrett broke through for a terrific win in the 65 Roses 30 Lap Feature. After starting alongside Brad Turnball for the main event, Merrett would get the jump at the start where he would remain for the entire journey, establishing a new 30 lap record in the process. Angelo Karoussis would slip into second ahead of Corey Jones, who was battling a malfunctioning front wing in the latter stages of the race.

While in the Junior Formula 500s, Rusty Ponting took out the Feature event ahead of Lachy Pickert and Evie Bell.


The night would finish with a cracking fireworks display before the U-Pull-It Demolition Derby World Record Attempt. While entries were somewhat down for this year’s attempt, Jess Williams was the last car surviving amongst the 40+ car field, with Robb Burrows 2nd and Bob Bishop in 3rd. Nigel Reichstein had the ‘Best Presented’ car, while ‘Most Damaged’ was awarded to Andrew Frahn.


Action returns to Murray Bridge Speedway on Saturday, April 22nd for the final event of the 2022-2023 Season with Round 9 of the Ausloans Finance Track Championship featuring V6 Sprints, Modlites, Street Stocks, Wingless Sprints, AMCAs, Junior Sedans and Classic Stock Cars/Hot Rods. Tickets for the event can booked online via

Photo: Pickos Photos

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Upcoming Events

Buy ivermectin