Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

J-Mac Fights Back To Win At Murray Bridge

James and the Monte Motorsport Team celebrate their win at Murray Bridge (Phil Michell Photo)
James McFadden returned to the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway on Boxing Day for Night 1 of the SA/VIC Speedweek and in front of a huge crowd he emerged with the win, although he had to work extremely hard as the local “South Aussie Posse”, led by Matt Egel almost stole the show.

After starting from position four McFadden sat back in third during the initial stages moving up to second when an engine failure ended the run for Brad Keller. From that point he looked destined for a runner-up finish as he trailed Egel by over 2 seconds but during the intense non-stop 30 lap race McFadden ran down the leader in lapped traffic taking the lead in turn two with five laps remaining.

“I was talking to my guys and to Matt about how thick that lapped traffic was. It was the most intense race I have ever had at Murray Bridge. I was just sitting back waiting for Matt to make a mistake or for the pace to drop off, but it didn’t happen. When I got to him, I had to make the move as he drove a great race” added McFadden on the podium.

“We didn’t do a very good at the start of the night and as a team we had to get better and we did, now we will just move on down the road and try again”.

Following the presentation McFadden was seen giving his winner’s trophy away to a young fan, proving what a true champion, he is and why he is a real crowd favourite with all ages.

For Egel it was yet another podium result, making it eight straight dating back to the Chariots of Thunder Series in August.

Third place went to Mount Gambier’s Steven Lines, who recorded his first podium result since winning at Toowoomba in 2019. Fourth went to local Ryan Jones, with David Murcott recording a solid top five in the Downing Brothers #97.

Marcus Dumesny made a welcomed return to South Australia as he finished sixth while Luke Dillon, Hayden Pitt, Ben Morris and Matthew Dumesny completed the top ten. For Pitt this was an outstanding result as he charged through the field having transferred from the B-Main.

Steven Caruso, Queenslander Callum Walker, who was making his Murray Bridge debut, Lisa Walker, Glen Sutherland, Lachlan McDonough, Ryan Alexander, Joel Heinrich and Keke Falland completed the finishers.

Of the eighteen drivers who greeted the chequered flag only seven drivers finished on the lead lap, such was the pace of the one of the most entertaining Boxing Day finales seen at Murray Bridge.

Six different drivers claimed a heat win including Brad Keller, Matt Egel, Ryan Jones, Glen Sutherland, Matthew Dumesny and Brendan Guerin while Hayden Pitt, Brendan Quinn, Joel Heinrich and Keke Falland transferred into the final via the B-Main.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Upcoming Events

Buy ivermectin