Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.


Sprintcar action returns to the Murray Machining & Sheds, Murray Bridge Speedway for the annual Bill Wigzell "Battle of the Bridge".
A class field of 19 cars will line-up for the Saturday, October 2nd event.

“We’re excited to see Sprintcars back at MMSS,” remarked Venue Administrator Darren Shaddock.

“It is fantastic to see our Sprintcar drivers back this early in the season and we thank them for their support."

Matt Egel will be one to watch after a very successful campaign in the NT, while the local challenge will include the likes of Ryan Jones, Brad Keller, Daniel Pestka and Steven Caruso.

Luke Dillon also returns as the final feature race winner at MMSS from the 2020/2021 Season, while speedway all-round Driver Ryan Alexander (pictured) steps into the Sprintcar ranks.

Brock Hallett, Paul Solomon and Troy Hose represent the interstate contingent.

Street Stocks will also run on the night, along with Junior Sedans and Classic Super Modifieds.

Wingless Sprints round out the program with a Rookie Development Session for 1st and 2nd year drivers.

“Wingless Sprints are an ever-growing category in South Australia,’ mentioned Shaddock.

"The Rookie Development session in conjunction with Wingless Sprints South Australia is designed to give new drivers more track time so they can gain more experience without the pressure of what can often be a 30-car field on any other race night,” he added.

360 Sprintcars were also due to run on the program, but are an unfortunate omission due to the number of nominations received.

Tickets for the event are on sale via

Bill Wigzell Battle of the Bridge
Sprintcars, Street Stocks, Junior Sedans, Classic Super Modifieds and Wingless Sprints (Rookie Development)

Pit Gates Open 1.30pm
Public Gates Open 4.30pm
On-Track Action 6pm

Photo: Savage Shots Photography

It’s Your Speedway, SA!

S3 Ben Morris
S7 Hayden Pitt
V7 Paul Solomon
S10 Steven Caruso
S12 Chris James
S13 Brock Hallett
S19 Brad Keller
S20 Glen Sutherland
S24 Ricky Maiolo
S27 Daniel Pestka
S38 Lachlan McDonough
S43 Daniel Puddy
S52 Matt Egel
V57 Troy Hose
S63 Ryan Jones
S70 Max Vidau
S81 Luke Dillon
S98 Ryan Alexander

Street Stocks
S0 Moss Buchanan
S3 Keith Moore
S7 Craig Buchanan
S11 Ryan Buchanan
S13 Ben Weedon
S14 Nigel Reichstein
S17 Carey Weston
S19 Phil Watson
S28 Jarryd Farrell
S58 Neville Nitschke
S112 Drew Flatman
S152 Michael Brown

Junior Sedans
S2 Ky McEwin
S4 Beau Allman
S9 Lachlan Brown
S14 Brock Cadd
S91 Henry Brumfield

Wingless Sprints (Rookie Development)
S14 Matthew Tyler
S25 Ben Cartwright
S55 Sharni Pitcher
S57 Kirra-Lee Pitcher
S58 Nate Trewin
S96 Tamika Pitcher
Classic Super Modifieds
2 Nick Butterworth
V5 Keanan Catford
16 Dillon Catford
V9 David Moore
11 George Stell
SA14 Trever Mackereth
SA49 Glenn Catford
88 Chris Brown
SA9 Dennis Burford

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Upcoming Events

Buy ivermectin