Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

Lines Edges Out Madsen In Speedweek Opener

Mount Gambier’s Steven Lines only led 5 laps of the A-Main during the opening round of QSS World Series Sprintcars at the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway, but they were the 5 that counted as he defeated Kerry Madsen and Corey Eliason in what was a great start to the series. The feature event ran 35-laps non-stop and in the process set a new 35 lap track record of 7:40.748.

With Madsen setting the pace for the opening 30 he was unaware that the bottom groove had come in with Lines running the bottom to perfection. But once Lines had shown his nose to the four times National Champ Madsen quickly covered the low groove, but Lines switched to the top sweeping around to take a well-deserved victory.

Eliason got by Matt Egel on the final lap to secure the final spot on the podium with James McFadden, who missed the shootout, completing the top five ahead of Daniel Pestka.

Egel’s fourth place could have been even higher considering he was challenging for the win with less than 10 laps remaining and was beaten by Eliason to the line by .201 of a second for a spot on the podium.

Brad Keller was presented with the “Hard Charger” award for his seventh placed finish after starting from position fifteen. Rusty Hickman, Ryan Jones and Glen Sutherland rounded out the top 10.

The other finishers were Chad Ely, Steven Caruso, Brendan Quinn, Jayden Peacock, Jack Lee, Brock Hallett, Keke Falland and Lisa Walker.

Earlier the heats were dominated by the locals with Brock Hallett, Steven Caruso, Glen Sutherland and Steven Lines taking a win while Corey Eliason and Rusty Hickman were the only “visiting” drivers to take out a preliminary.

Heat 5 saw Aidan Hall ride out a big crash in turn two on the opening lap with the incident involving Steven Lines, Kerry Madsen and Mitch Wormall.

Kerry Madsen emerged the winner of the Gold Shootout, but his fastest lap actually came in the Silver Shootout as he set a lap of 10.985, the only lap in the 10 second bracket all evening.

Brendan Quinn, Queenslander Jayden Peacock, Keke Falland and Luke Dillon transferred into the main event via the Last Chance Qualifier.

Due to the heat earlier in the day Time Trials were cancelled with a random draw being conducted for the heats.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Upcoming Events