Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

National Champs Looking To Become King

The final pre-Christmas meeting hits the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway this Saturday night (December 15) with the Formula 500 King of the Bridge and Round 2 of the Wingless Sprint State Series being the main attractions. Both main events have attracted their respective National Champions with Queensland based Liam Williams (Formula’s) and Joel Chadwick (Wingless) leading extremely competitive fields in both classes.

In addition to the four times Australian Champion there are plenty of other contenders in the 17-car field including 2014/15 National Champion Dylan Willsher, two time “King” Angelo Karoussis, Bordertown racer Patrick Merrett, Brad Stell and Corey Jones.

Over the past couple of season’s the “King of the Bridge” has been one of the best races of the year in any category and this year should produce yet another memorable event as the classy field strives to win one of the biggest trophies in South Australian Speedway.

At the opening round of the Wingless State Series at Murray Bridge Joel Chadwick drove to victory in the 25 lap A-Main, but he had to work extremely hard to get the better of Joel Heinrich and Matthew Kennedy. This Saturday night you can be assured that the record field of 30 drivers will all be out to make sure that Chadwick doesn’t make it back to back wins.

But it will far from a three-driver contest with Anthony Tapley, Jake Ashworth, Michael Spoljaric, Darryl Sloan, Brent Fox and Cody Atkins also strong contenders along with a whole host of visitors from Mildura.

The strong local line-up will also be kept honest by Victorian standout Daniel Storer, who defeated a field of 60 drivers last weekend at the Avalon Raceway.

Each driver will contest two rounds of heats prior to a B-Main and the 25 lap A-Main therefore the Wingless brigade will provide plenty of on track action.

The final open wheeled category on the program, the Modlites, will be making their first appearance of the season and a sizeable nomination list of 12 drivers set to take on the 360-metre venue. Michael Cowland will enter the race in good form having won the feature race at the Sunline Speedway last Saturday night. He will be joined by the likes of Graham Knuckey, Danny Prade, Scott Webb, Brian Chadwick, Chris Ferguson and Brook Alexander therefore the racing should be quite entertaining from these high revving pocket rockets.

Rounding out the full racing program will be Street Stocks, Junior Sedans, AMCA Nationals and Classic Speedcar Demonstrations.

Gates open at 3pm with on-track action from 5pm.

Tickets at the gate or online from
Adults - $25
Concession - $20
Juniors 13-15 - $15
Kids Under 12 - FREE
Family - $60

Murray Bridge Speedway - It’s YOUR Speedway SA!!

Ends Release.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Upcoming Events