Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

Heinrich and Reichstein Show Class At MMS

Street Stock winner Nigel Reichstein
The Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway came alive to the sights and sounds of various race cars last Saturday night with an all sections program that was led by strong fields in the Street Stocks and Wingless Sprints. In the end the Street Stock feature saw a comfortable win to veteran Nigel Reichstein while Joel Henrich defeated Anthony Tapley and Jake Ashworth in what was the best race of the night.

After both securing a heat win and a second placing during their heats Spencer Taylor and Joel Heinrich shared the front row in the 20 lap Wingless Sprint decider with Taylor taking the lead early but once Heinrich took over the lead he was unstoppable as he won by over 3.2 seconds. After being extremely consistent during his two heat races Tapley saved his best for the final as he claimed the runner-up spot over Jake Ashworth. Taylor faded late to finish fourth while Jarman Dalitz, rookie Jordon Bolitho, Daniel Smith, Mick Barker, Jaime Lee Andrews and Shane Hammerstein completing the top 10.

In addition to Taylor and Heinrich, Jake Ashworth also claimed a heat win. The biggest incident of the night occurred in heat 3 as Mildura racer Melissa McMillan rolled her #73 in turn four with the incident also involving William Caruso.

The Wingless Sprints return to Murray Bridge this Saturday and Sunday nights for rounds 2 and 3 of the Easter Trail.

The Street Stocks saw a field of 16 drivers front for action with Nigel Reichstein being the class of the field as he captured another MMS feature win ahead of Matt Maynard and Anthony Buchanan. Haydon Jolly had one of his best performances to finish fourth ahead of John Drapala, Cheyanne Richter-Uren and Keenan Richards.

The heat winners on the night were Cade Cox, Maynard (2) and Reichstein.

In the remaining categories that were in action Chris Pinchbeck was extremely impressive in the 20-lap final as he defeated Brendan Zadow and Richard Schmidt while Leanne Turner was a deserving winner over Jeremy Fenner and “Birthday Boy” Mark Janssan in the AMCA Nationals.

Unfortunately, the Super Sedans only saw 5 cars in the pit area but the drivers on hard tried their best to put on a show with 3 heat races and a 15-lap final. The 3 heats saw three different winners with Kym Jury, Ryan Alexander and Mark Gartner, who was subbing for his Father Dave, all crossing the line first in a preliminary heat. In fact, all three drivers finished locked together on points at the completion of the heats, but the line-up would see Gartner and Jury on the front as Alexander elected to start at the tail.

But Alexander would go on to win ahead of Jury, but it took him until the dying stages to take the lead following a late race restart for Gartner who spun. Therefore, Alexander won with Jury Steve Schwarz, Gartner and Kym Leyson completing the field.

The Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway will conduct a 2 Night event this Saturday and Sunday with the Easter Nationals for Speedcars and Formula 500’s while the Wingless Sprints and Super Sedans will also feature. Sunday Night will see a spectacular Fireworks Display making it a great weekend of Easter Entertainment for the entire family.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Ultimate Sprintcars/h4>

Upcoming Events