Murray Bridge Speedway - Ultimate Sprintcar Championship


Murray Bridge Speedways news.

Kane Is The Late Model Champ Again

Darren Kane on his victory lap following his Australian Title win (Phil Michell Photo)
After struggling by his high standards on night 1 Queensland’s Darren Kane bounced back in stunning fashion as he drove his #36 Dominator to his second Australian Late Model Championship at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway in a race that what was a great advertisement for the category. After starting from position 12 in the 40-lap decider Kane pounced on race leader Craig Vosbergen after a late race caution and from that point he wasn’t headed going on to win one of the best sedan feature races ever seen at Murray Bridge.

“This is unbelievable. We spoke about what we could do to the car to make it better for tonight, we knew we were way off last night. Everyone in the team worked really hard overnight to get the car to where it needed to be. This car has only done five nights of racing. The track was awesome, we set up the car to run the top and it worked out. I feel for Craig, but the top was open on that restart and I took it” added the jubilant winner.

Vosbergen, who had controlled the race out front for 34 laps after starting on the pole, was absolutely devastated on the podium as he struggled to even speak during the presentation.

“I’m guttered. I don’t know what to say other than perhaps I should have moved up track a little earlier, but I was just a sitting duck out there. I had no idea where the guys behind me were. All I can do is say thanks to my guys and to come back and try and win next year”.

Third across the line was local standout Ryan Alexander, who battled hard throughout the race just coming up short of becoming the first South Australian to claim the National Title.

Fourth place went to Western Australian Kye Blight who stormed home late after starting from position 10 with Clayton Pyne rounding out the top 5. Ben Nicastri, Jay Cardy, Brad Blake, Cameron Pearson and Michael Holmes completed to top 10.

The final round of heat races were held earlier in the night with David Doherty, Vosbergen, American Jeff Roth and Kane each winning a heat while Brad Blake, Tim Bink, Dean Hickey, who was voted as the Best Presented Car and Crew, and Darryl Grimson transferred to the A-Main via the B.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

Ultimate Sprintcars/h4>

Upcoming Events